Amazed

15 01 2010

Frankly, I’m amazed… that this is undeniably as good as Paul’s original. Well, in it’s own way of course. I may even dare to say it’s better. I know, I know… but there’s just something about it. Maybe because it’s so unexpected and yet so perfectly suited for this band. First, Ronnie Lane does a great McCartney impression in the beginning and then Rod takes over and pretty much seals the deal.

Digging that video up again after so long really got me in the mood for some more so I’m gratuitously posting two other favorites. Another great cover but this one is an old Motown song made a hit by The Temptations, called “(I Know) I’m Losing You”. They truly make it their own. Loads of energy. Just check out Kenney Jones’ drum solo.

And, of course,  my all time favorite Faces tune, “Ooh La La”. This one actually features Ronnie Lane as lead vocal. Sorry, there is no actual visual content here but that’s not what this is about anyway, right?

Actions

Information

4 responses

15 01 2010
Lizzie

Thank you for posting Ooh La La, I had been hearing that song so much lately and had no idea who it was by. At last!

15 01 2010
thegreengorilla

I know it’s all over the place. It’s also in one of my all-time favorite movies: Rushmore (Wes Anderson). One of the best parts is at 6:05 in this video. “Do you remember how I got into this school? That’s right, 2nd grade I wrote a little One Act about Watergate” -Max Fischer is practically an idol of mine. I dunno, perhaps it’s the red beret and blazer or maybe it’s that “jack of all trades, master of none” attitude.

15 01 2010
maninjapan

I hate everything about rod stewart except his voice. so much.

15 01 2010
thegreengorilla

I think that sentiment is shared by most, including myself… after all consider the “If You Think I’m Sexy” years. It’s hard to forgive such things. But thankfully he has contributed a few real gems throughout his career. May I remind you of “Handbags & Gladrags”. And the stuff with The Faces was fantastic.

Leave a Reply

